Importance & Purpose of Internship

Muhammad Zeeshan
3 min readSep 13, 2018

--

The Process!

Before having the experience as an internee in the practical field my views in regard of the importance of the internship, the purpose of internship and the difference of the educational industry and the practical market were not as clear as they have become now.

Before joining the internship as I had already heard from few of my seniors and university mates that it is usually done as a formality to be able to get the degree and its significance in terms of learning is not as much as you get the learning when you join in as a permanent employee after the graduation. As being an internee most of the organizations don’t let you have that authority to work and you have to go through the grunt work as the professionals don’t think of you as up to the mark and mature enough to handle the practical situations. Hence the expose for working as an internee is not as bright as it is expected by the student most of the time.

The above said rumors that might be true in some cases let my spirit down and I had the image of the internship in my mind to be a formality with very low learning. Hence the importance of the internship was not as clear in my mind as it should have to be. So in order to get more responsibility on my shoulders and in order to get into a place where I would have been able to get more responsibility for working as an internee I searched out for the recent startups to join in to overcome that hurdle.

When I joined in for the internship after few days I got the position of the “Marketing Executive” and had to work extra mile in order to meetup the standards of the work requirement and it was for sure challenging. After the great experience of the internship I would say that the purpose of internship is not just to go through a formality in order to get the degree but on the other hand its real purpose is to go and look at the other side of the world which is practical. Being in the bachelors and studying as a student and going out in the practical field and working as a professional are two different things. So even if we don’t get the right opportunity or the right amount of authority or responsibility that we wanted or expected it all turns out to be our fault not the professional worlds as in order to be that above average person we have to invest more than the average. Anyhow by going in to the practical field I believe that we learn how to study for the rest of our study course. We learn how to implement the theories that we had already gone through in our educational life.

Furthermore as far as the other part of importance is concerned specially after my particle experience that the internship is really important as it plays a vital role in terms of realizing that either we are suitable or can we be able to coup up with the field as a life career choice or not. Also along this it teaches us how to be more dynamic and practical when it comes to study.

As a conclusion after my practical experience I believe that the main purpose of the internship is to learn how to implement the theories which we had gone through our course of study and later in future how to study in terms of getting things done in the field. When it comes to the importance of the internship I believe that it plays a vital role in the completion of the bachelors as it teaches us how the practice market works and either the field which we want to opt as a career for us in future is up to our potential and interest.

--

--