Seagulls of the Yamuna Ghat

Mukesh Advani
2 min readJan 27, 2018

--

Well, this is my first article on medium so I would like to give a short introduction about me, my name is Mukesh Advani and I am a photographer from Delhi, I like clicking landscape and portraits.

This article is about the “Yamuna” river that flows between Delhi and Noida is also home to a small ghat named “ Nigambodh Ghat” which is Hindu cremation ground. It is also home to Siberian Seagulls which migrate from harsh winters of Siberia and rest here in the banks of Yamuna from the month of November to March.

Ok, now you might be asking why this place is calling for attention? Well, the fact is that this place existing in a city like Delhi is itself is fascinating as the city is full of people, buildings and getting modern day by day and still having this small ghat existing is calling for applause.

But the magic happens during the sunrise when the ghat people in their small boats feed the birds and the group of birds maybe 100 or 1000 circle around the boats to create the magical scene and forces the photographer to open their camera shutter and start clicking.

The colors of the early sunrise blending with the reflection in the river and elements of the seagulls, boats, and ghat truly form the essence of a great photograph.

I hope you guys have enjoyed reading this article, do like or share if you find it interesting and if you want to see more of my images, please free to visit my Instagram handle..www.instagram.com/immukeshadvani

--

--