How I Got Interested In Software Development

Munaiz Ahmed
2 min readOct 18, 2023

I went to school for finance and worked as a financial analyst for 2.5 years before quitting.

When I quit my job, I didn’t know what was next in my life. I traveled for a few months and explored different career paths upon my return.

I looked into culinary school, and real estate and even thought about becoming a contractor. But I was never excited about any of these options.

Here’s how I first got interested in coding:

I read this quote by Steve Jobs back in 2019 and it changed my life.

“Once you discover one simple fact, that everything around you that you call life, was made up by people that were no smarter than you. [Then] you can build your own things that other people can use…”

I was excited about the idea of building things that other people could use. So I started learning how to code and built one of my first projects using a Raspberry Pi ( a credit-credit-sized computer).

I built a garage light that helped my brother learn depth perception when he was learning to drive.

My goal for the upcoming new year:

I believe we should manage ourselves the way a CEO would manage a company. Every month I manually download my credit card transactions from multiple credits and categorize them. As the “CEO”, I shouldn’t be wasting my time building the report.

My goal for the next year is to build a tool that automates the whole process so I can focus on bigger things in life. So if you’re a developer who has worked with the Plaid Banking API, let's connect!!

--

--