Positive self talk is Powerful!

Munazza Fatima Obaida
2 min readJun 10, 2024

--

It's such a bad day!!

Life sucks!!!

It’s not gonna happen ever!!

I’m the dumbest creature I’ve ever met!!

I used to be like this 90% of the time, filled with negativity being as self-critical as possible. And the results? Yes, you’re probably thinking right... I would just be an annoyed person all day. These are just human emotions, right? But sometimes we don’t realize how negativity takes over and positivity has just no place to be.

I would say I am this person to date had I not been able to identify and observe a few things in life.

So abruptly, just on a busy day, I said a few sentences to myself standing in front of the mirror!! Yes, that was also one of those mornings where I wasn't feeling the best... but you know how things changed!! Instead of being the self-critical, annoyed person I am, I gave myself a little pep talk!!

You go, girl!!

You’ve got this!!

The day is supposed to be beautiful!!

Be your most productive self!!

You just look so pretty!!

And that pep talk... literally helped!! That is when I realized I should be doing this more often. Positive self-talk is so, so powerful. It's just supposed to make you feel you!! And you won't realize it until you start doing it.

Okay, let's get a bit nerdy.

Studies have shown that self-talk can seriously boost your performance. One study found that athletes who used positive self-talk performed way better than those who didn’t. Another study showed that people who practiced positive self-talk had less anxiety and more confidence – crucial ingredients for staying productive.

Hit a roadblock? Instead of throwing in the towel, tell yourself, “I can figure this out.”

Stuck on a tough problem? Self-talk can help you brainstorm. Try saying, “What’s another way to solve this?” and watch your creative juices flow.

So, if you’re still having second thoughts, stop thinking!! Let your inner cheerleader take the lead, and I kid you not, your productivity will thank you.

--

--