My Garden is in Bloom, An Ode to Queen Charlotte

The Musings of a Funky Black Gurl
2 min readMay 12, 2023

--

This image was generated with the assistance of AI

Queen Charlotte, how does it feel to cultivate one’s own garden?

To tend to your blossoms,

roots evergreen and untrodden.

When my garden was managed,

it was always tender,

I assume your perennials

did not experience cold surrender.

To unravel my braids,

it took many cycles.

Another thirteen

for texture revival.

When blooms were permitted,

it was a topiary gravedom,

crafted by power that insisted

submission was freedom.

It was not my birth right to claim my place,

my status was dirt,

not taking up space.

I was meant to fold,

never to unfold.

Blooms bowing down,

never rising above crown.

Queen Charlotte, was your hair altered to be kempt?

No, you nourished your tresses with water,

not with chemicals or a plated cauter.

Did you twist, thread, and press for their approval?

No, you shaped shrubbery for variety,

not to be subjected to the whims of society.

That was my plight

being ornamental.

Compliments libidinal

in the guise of

nonjudgemental.

My plot was accepted

if it looked orderly,

but show my true natives

they send in the orderlies.

Has your garden ever been invaded Queen Charlotte?

Invasive species

eating

defiling

harming

culling your composites

until

slit

no use for a wilted garden,

f i n a l l y

their full ownership unbridled,

their fingers enter you

wiggling like worms,

forcefully searching

pulling

scraping at your roots,

they need to find something

so fear is affirmed.

Underneath my blooms

lies the end of the world.

They must stay unburned

from my coal-seam fire,

cause once caught in the flames

they’d have to perspire.

After violation, I tried to find meaning.

Winter burn scars us all

what’s a little more searing?

Maybe sweating out toxins

can salve all the burning?

In order to flourish,

we must destroy

what ills us.

Maybe I’ll show them,

hell maybe I’ll grow nuts.

With a pair of shears,

I pruned my florets.

Destroyed myself.

Destroyed my world.

Is this what this is,

Queen Charlotte?

To cultivate one’s own garden.

My new blooms, they grew

authentically beautiful,

carbon felt different

my breaths were powerful.

When I see you living

my past garden sheds petals,

landing softly with joy,

yet painfully decaying

unsettled.

How meaningful you are

the liberated Queen Charlotte,

you represent our beauty,

yet a story I’m denied to incarnate.

But as new growth sprouts,

energy is harnessed.

I tend to my own garden,

till with my own hands,

wield my own growth,

until one day

my roots are aerial,

transcending earthly bondage

just like you Queen Charlotte.

--

--