Photo by KAL VISUALS on Unsplash

Team Leadership: The Journey from Control to Efficiency

Mustafa Danabaşı - EN

--

I believe that team leadership is an approach learned over time. About nine years ago, when I started as a team leader, I thought control was everything. However, through my experiences, I realized that control could be the enemy of efficiency. In this article, I will share what I have learned and how I have transformed throughout my team leadership journey.

When I began as a team leader, I tried to keep everything under control. However, as the team grew, I started to lose control and felt fear. I was trying to follow up on and do everything myself. This approach, however, was exhausting both me and my team. Additionally, I was hesitant to ask my team members to take on tasks, fearing misunderstandings.

When I realized that continuing in this manner was not right, I decided to change my leadership model. Instead of improvising, I decided to create a plan and adopt a leadership approach unique to each team member. I began to communicate openly and clearly with my team members within a framework of trust and goodwill.

By communicating individually with each team member and getting to know them better, we strengthened our team bond. This way, we created an environment where everyone began to act openly, clearly, helpfully, and with goodwill. Thanks to the strength of this bond, we started to overcome challenges more easily.

As I began to delegate responsibilities and give my team members more freedom, I noticed that tasks progressed much more smoothly. This approach formed the foundation of my leadership style and increased my efficiency. To give an example from myself, I can work more comfortably and be more productive when I am given space and responsibility.

Team leadership requires a delicate balance between control and freedom. One of the most important things I have learned from my experiences is that each team member is different, and personalized leadership approaches are necessary. My advice to those who will take on team leadership is to establish strong communication with your team members and try to get to know them. Only in this way can you form a real team and achieve success together.

Thank you for reading.

--

--

Mustafa Danabaşı - EN

20+ years experienced Software Dev. Software Development Manager | Software Engineering Manager https://www.linkedin.com/in/mustafadanabasi/