Muthulakshmi Mahesh
4 min readMay 8, 2019

Five synonym words that can be used in IELTS speaking!

Take a glance of what we are about to look forward/ahead.

  • Plethora - plenty, many, a lot
  • Mesmerise- when something attracts you, when you wonder it is beautiful from heart
  • However - it is used in the middle of the sentence to differentiate between two opposite sentences. Remember if you use ‘however' in the middle of the writing you must put comma in the starting and in the ending like- I will help him, however, I can.
  • Dilemma - it is like a hypothetical situation when you are in a confusion to choose/ opt between two things
  • To recapitulate - to summarise

Plethora

  • Use ‘plethora’ instead of using the words such as- plenty, many, a lot, great options.
  • Phonetic pronounciation- pleh·thuh·ruh
  • Meaning- ‘Plethora’ is a large number or large amount of a particular thing, so we use the word ‘plethora’ as singular. Therefore, since it is singular we will use 'is’ instead of ‘are’,

'There IS a plethora of people’

will be the correct sentence.

Examples-

  1. There is a plethora of shirts.
  2. I have a plethora of hobbies.
  3. I have a plethora of friends.
  4. She did everything in plethora, let it be her love or studies or helping the needy.
  5. Accomplishing/doing in plethora made her hurt.
  6. He had plethora of feelings confined within him.
  7. My brother eagerly accepted the job because it came with a plethora of opportunities.

Mesmerise

  • Use mesmerise instead of using the words such as- charm, awe struck, spellbind.
  • Meaning- if someone had been captured by your attention or when you literally carry heartily feelings for someone/ something.
  • Mesmerise somebody to have such a strong effect on you that you cannot give/ focus your attention to anything else
  • Phonetic pronounciation- mez·muh·rize

Examples-

  1. I am mesmerised by his loyalty and affection.
  2. They were pretty much mesmerised, listening my brother’s story.
  3. She did not speak/utter a word as she lay there, mesmerised by her brother’s passionate/whole hearted/ zealous expression.
  4. They were mesmerised by her writing.
  5. They were mesmerised as she bloomed out to be a public speaker.
  6. The lake/ the holiday destination/ the picture/ the painting was so beautiful that I was mesmerised.

However

  • This will be used between two contradicting/ opposite sentences. ‘However' is used same like the usage of 'but’, ‘yet’.
  • Phonetic pronounciation-haw·eh·vuh

Examples-

In case of explaining hobbies,

  1. I used to play football, however, now I love cricket.
  • While you are talking about two different/contradicting things, you should be able to connect those two sentences by using ‘however’.
  1. I love his innocent character, however, he is sensitive.
  2. He will understand me, however, I do not talk much.
  3. He will cry/weep like a baby, however, I will try to console/convince him.
  4. I will share my thoughts to dad, however, he will also share his thoughts to mum.
  5. I love Enfield, however, I do not know to ride.
  6. I am going to buy Bugatti veyron, however, I will have to utilise/use all of my savings.
  7. He made me realise the significance/ importance of honesty/loyalty, however, I thought everyone would betray/leave at a certain time.
  8. I am blessed to have a brother like him however, he wants to fulfill my desire/wish of visiting Eiffel at Paris, FR.
  9. I will succeed in whatever I do, however, I am working hard with the same motto/intention as such.
  10. We will become successful, however, we ought to be more focused.

Dilemma

  • It is a situation where you are about to decide between two difficult choices. Means like you are confused/puzzled to choose this or that.
  • Meaning — it is similar to hypothetical situation
  • Phonetic pronounciation-duh·leh·muh

Examples-

  1. She was in a dilemma.
  2. Whenever life presents you with a plethora of choices, there is bound to be in dilemma.
  3. I was in a dilemma whether to listen my dad’s choices or choose my own opinion.
  4. There arises a dilemma between choosing your passionate career or a monotonous field with no interest.
  5. It is still a dilemma with regard to the people as they compare one with the other, but owing to the reason/because the apple trees can give only apples and mango trees will give only mangoes. One cannot become another in either way.

Recapitulate

  • Meaning- it is an alternative word for summarise, review, recap.
  • Phonetic pronunciation- ree·kuh·pi·choo·leit
  • When the examiner says you to state your opinion, you will have to say- this is good or that is good. This is better or the other choice is better. So at the end you will say instead of telling ‘to summarise' you will have to use ‘to recapitulate’ I feel this in my opinion etc.

Examples-

  1. To recapitulate, I have told the consequence/importance in basic usage of the essential five words in IELTS.
  2. I recapitulate that the readers will understand the basic usage of these five words in IELTS.

I will write an easy example inorder to make it understand even more better-

There are ‘plethora' of IELTS speaking tutorials yet I am ‘mesmerised’ that you have chosen my kind of teaching amongst them. I tried to make it simple and easy to understand/discern ‘however’ if there are any sort/kind of queries let me know. ‘To recapitulate' I hope you have understood the above few tips, if you score more band marks in this exam, I will be more delighted/glad/happier than you. Eventually, I am still in ‘dilemma’ whether can you understand?

You will have to use these words in whatever topic you are directed to speak. Let it be hobbies, food, shopping or if it is about describing a beauty whatever it maybe. Learn to use these few essential words in describing any kind of subject. Learn the meaning, usage and most importantly learn the phonetic pronounciation of these words correctly. Keep trying to talk in front of the mirror with the correct formation of sentences in a fluent manner. All the best!