Photo credit: Yulia Sobol on Unsplash

5 Things I Learned from Floating in the Ocean

It probably doesn’t need to be this hard

--

Floating in the warm Atlantic ocean off the coast of Florida this summer, I discovered something about myself.

I have a really hard time letting go.

Ok, so that’s not really news to anyone who knows me. But it was a new glimpse into myself.

I love the ocean. Playing in the waves, the feel of the water, the salty taste of it. I body surf, I jump the waves, I snorkel. I do not float. This summer, watching my nieces and kids floating carelessly, I thought I’d try it again.

Standing chest-deep in the ocean

Standing out in chest-deep water, I lifted my legs up off the sand, stretched out arms, felt the water cross over my stomach, and leaned my head back so that I was fully stretched out. It’s amazing how buoyant you are in the ocean.

I lasted about a second before the panic rushed in.

I pulled my head up and broke the pose. My feet touched the ocean floor a mere 4 feet away. The panic subsided.

Well, that was informative.
Why is this so hard?

--

--

Muffie Waterman

mother of 2 teens, PhD in Learning Sciences, Author of Wired to Listen: What Kids Learn from What We Say. Figuring life out as I go