The V Model, and How it can Impact Your Life

Michael
6 min readNov 14, 2023

I am on a journey to allocate my technical PM (Product Manager) knowledge to reshape my life out of the office as well. I know it will be a bit time consuming, but well worth it in the end. This idea, actually, just hit me — funny enough. I was looking over a work project recently and the lightbulb went off. If I only could manage my personal life in the same way that I manage my projects at work, wow, so much time and effort saved.

I feel that most people are very organized at work, but when it comes to home life things are a little more ad-hoc, and rightly so (maybe its just the single 27 year old male speaking, lol).

We expend so much brain power at work that sometimes when we get home we dont know which way is up. I mean, how can you expect to be on top of everything in your personal life if you dont have the energy? Will power and determination only go so far, and even then you get cyclic depression on working after work, lol.

Anyways, the answers to the above hypothetical are a lot simpler than you might think. So let me explain further. I introduce the V-Model (some write as Vee):

Generic implementation of the V-Model

In nerdy engineering terms the V model represents a very specific way to execute a project. The model was architected for systems development. I would consider life a system. The model represents the…

--

--

Michael

An eternal optimist just trying to move the needle.