Beginners Guide: How To Apply Eyeshadow 👄

My glamm products
7 min readJul 9, 2020

--

I’m going to share my secret tips and tricks on how you can get the perfect eye makeup.

This blog is specifically for beginners so, if you have absolutely no idea as to how to do eye shadows this blog is going to be perfect for you because I’m going to be spilling all the beans here today and I’m going to share all of the tricks that you need to know to get that perfect eye makeup so without wasting any more time let’s get started.

How To Apply Eyeshadow
Eyeshadow Tutorial

So, my base is already done as you can see because I’m gonna be focusing only on the eyes today and the eyeshadow palette that I have with me is by ETUDE house it’s a very nice soft mocha eyeshadow palette so I’m gonna start with a transition shade so for example when you start painting something you create a boundary or a border so that you do not exceed that border, you do not paint outside that border and that’s exactly what a transition colour is.

So a transition colour has to be closer to the kind of shades that you’re going for and since I’m going to be using more neutral colours I’m gonna go ahead with something that’s very very close to my skin tone and very very soft in colour.

I have this fluffy eyeshadow brush right here — the bristles of which are very soft and very fluffy so it will help me in diffusing the shade and you know just creating that nice soft smoky edge.

I’m gonna go for this shade right here because this is very very close to my skin tone and it’s gonna give me a very nice very beautiful transition — you wanna place your transition shade right on the outer corner of your eyes and you have to go underneath your brow bone.

Eye shadow Paltte
Eyeshadow Tutorial

So just feel the hollow of your brow bone and just go back and forth like that a couple of times so that you can pack the colour where you want it and then you wanna go in with soft circular motions like that so that the colour which has been placed right above your brow bone is very nicely diffused so as you can see I’m just placing the colour and creating that really nice soft transition and another thing that you want to keep in mind when you’re doing your eyeshadow is that you have to pull your brush way lightly from here because when you hold it from the middle you get a very strong grip and that means your eyeshadow is not gonna blend properly so hold it in the middle and very softly so that you can blend the shade easily.

Alright so, now that I’ve placed my transition shade the second step is to go one shade darker to the transition shade that you’ve used earlier so I’m going to go in with this dusty brown shade right here and I’m not gonna change my brush yet I’m just gonna dust off the excess and again as you can see I’m just going to place this shade right on the outer corner and this time I’m not gonna exceed the brow bone.

So, I’m gonna keep it limited to my brow bone so you can gradually increase the definition and darken the eyeshadow but the whole idea is to just stay within the transition shade that you’ve used earlier so I’m using back and forth motions to just place the colour right into my crease, so we’re done with shadow number two and now as I said that you have to gradually proceed with the shade.

I’m gonna use this shade right here which is like the darkest shade on the palette and I’m gonna use this to define and just deepen at the outer corner a little bit more okay so now the brush that I’m using this time is slightly smaller and it’s more dense and compact as compared to the brush that I used earlier which is this one — this will help in placing the colour exactly where I wanted because now I do not want the dark eyeshadow to just go outside so I’m just gonna make sure that I place the colour right within the trees and on the outer corner which is going to give me that depth and that definition that I want.

How To Apply Eyeshadow
Eyeshadow Tutorial

I’m gonna pack in the shade, you wanna always dust off the excess — starting from the outer corner I’m going upwards like that and then inwards like that so basically creating a ‘V’ and then once I place the colour I’m gonna go again underneath my brow bone just basically following the crease.

As you can see it was very nicely defined my eye area and there are a lot more definition and a lot more depth to my eye look so now once you place your dark eye shadow you want to go back in with the fluffy brush and just make sure that there are no harsh edges and just very nicely using a very soft hand and very very small circular motions just make sure everything is very nicely blended.

Leaving your eyeshadow unblended is a number one crime you so guys you cannot do it so make sure you always go back in with a fluffy brush and just blend the edges outright so after this you’re kind of like 50% through with your eye shadow and your eyes should look something like this.

It’s all very nicely blended and smoked out as you can see and that’s the kind of gradient effect that we were going for.

Eye shadow Tutorial
Eyeshadow makeup brush

And, now the next step is to use something on lighter on your eyelid so that your eyes can look bigger and all the attention actually falls on the centre part of your eyelid and that’s the reason why people go for you know a few shades lighter or maybe shimmery shades and something brighter which just kind of opens up your eyes.

So I’m going to go in with this shade right here which is sort of like a metallic shade I’m just going to basically use my fingers to pack the shadow on the centre of my eyelids and always keep in mind when you’re applying something metallic or you know shimmery always press the colour onto your eyelid so that you get maximum pigment and maximum glitter out of it so as you can see my eye automatically looks bigger because this far is in focus because of the glitter and now I’m going to repeat the process n the other eyes.

So now I’m using a clean fluffy brush and I’m going to go back into my eyeshadow palette and get this colour right here and I’m just gonna make sure that there are no harsh edges around the metallic shade if you’re now moving on to my lower lash line I’m going to use the darkest shade that I have here and I’m going to use a smaller fluffy brush like this which is very very small and fits right underneath you know the lower lash line I’m going to just place that colour around with my lower lash line very very gently and very very lightly so I’m not smoking it out too much as you can see I’m just kind of using a little bit of shadow so that my eyes kind of look very nice and defined from the lower lash line area as well.

Eyeshadow Tutorial
Eyeshadow brush

So now with that, I’m gonna move on to highlight my brow bone and my inner corner and for that, I’m going to use a highlighter powder and the brush that I’ll be using for this is very thin and very precise so that my highlighter shade actually does not spread anywhere else.

I’m gonna apply it upon the inner corners.

As well — it just kind of opens up your eye. I’m now using a liquid liner this is by NYX it’s their Vinyl Liquid Liner and I’m gonna create a very soft wing it’s not gonna be a very thick chunky wing I mean it’s up to you guys if you guys want to do it you can do it but I am someone who loves to create something very very soft to just kind of define my eye a little bit more.

Okay and now to finish off with your look — this is a very very important step, I’m gonna apply some mascara but before that, I’m gonna curl my lashes because my lashes are super straight and I always cover my lashes to get that nice lift and then I’m gonna use mascara and just start applying that from the roots and just wiggle your way upwards like that using a very very gentle but firm hand and to finish off with my look.

I am using the Nykaa So Matte Mini Lipstick in the shade 20M. So that’s a wrap, guys.

I really really love how the eye shadow turned out to let me know what you think about this look and if you have any more queries or doubts that you want to clear please let me know in the comment section below

Read More.

--

--