Venice. Milan. Lyon. Paris.

Myleik Teele
4 min readNov 21, 2015

--

My travel is typically pretty local, in fact Delta sent me an email today letting me know that I had reached Platinum status and that LGA (LaGuardia) was my most visited airport this year. I take lots of trips to New York because most hair companies are located in … New York.

Anyway … About my trip to Venice. I’d never been to Venice before and I got the idea to tag along on the man’s trip to the Venice Biannale when he mentioned having to go for work a few months ago. If you aren’t really sure what that is, imagine going to an art Olympics. You’re going to see lots and lots of art. He’s a contemporary art curator so I knew what I was signing up for.

In Venice we stayed at Palazzina G and we walked about two miles from our hotel and had an absolute blast having drinks and these little sandwich things at Al Timon. Those little bites were so good and so cheap … I think I ate 6 or 7 of them (don’t worry, I started back with my trainer this week). The next night I wanted to do something really nice and special so we had dinner Ristorante Quadri (a tad expensive but super good). We also went to check out art at the Punta Della Dogana if you want to OD on art like I did. Ha! After two days in Venice we took a train to Milan.

I was SO tired on the train to Milan (MY GAWD)! Once we pulled up to the train station and walked out I was blown away. Milan, your gorgeous! Our hotel was less than a mile away from the station so we walked in the gorgeous weather to the Hotel Principe Di Savoia. The plan was to go to the Prada Foundation but we managed to stop for the BEST pizza that I have ever had in my LIFE. Too bad I can’t remember the name of the place we went but eat pizza in Milan — it’s yummy. Once we got to the Prada Foundation I was blown away by the architecture and the bar (the drinks were gorgeous). My favorite piece was “Lost Love” (2000) by Damien Hirst. My other fave thing in Milan was EATALY! I could have LIVED in that store.

We only spent one night in Milan and got up in the morning and caught a flight to Lyon, France. Remember I told you that the man is a curator? We went to the Lyon Biennale. You guessed it … MORE art. I actually fell in love with an artist there: Camille Henrot. Girlfriend YES! I decided that she will be my first big art purchase. I loved her show in Lyon — LOVED! Now let’s see if I can actually afford anything.

Lyon captured my heart. The first night I insisted on grabbing a drink at Soda Bar (super cute and so dope)! I loved Lyon and especially loved the market (it’s called Les Halles de Lyon) and it’s the most EPIC eatery I’ve ever encountered (we ended up going two days in a row). The first night I had the best oysters at Merle Huîtres et Coquillages and the next day I had escargot and rose wine at la Maison Malartre. TAKE ME BAAAAACK! After two nights in Lyon we caught a quick flight to Paris and the man fell in love with the hotel. I’ve been to Paris a few times and Les Bains was amazing. Every touch point was excellent! I did a bunch in Paris but the highlights were going to Palais de Tokyo and being able to get a last minute reservation at my favorite restaurant Verjus (the last time I was there I saw on instagram that I had just missed Beyonce and Jay-Z)!

All of these stops come highly recommended by ME and here are a few packing and trip tips that I learned along the way:

  1. Get yourself some LIGHTWEIGHT luggage for the trip to Europe! There are no cars in Venice so you’ll only be able to get around by foot and you’ll have your luggage so pack light IN a light bag. Try getting a bag like this.
  2. Take a few cute t-shirts (my fave are Madewell), two pairs of jeans (light and dark), a pair of comfy boots (I wore Frye boots), a pair of cute sneakers (I took a pair of cream Pumas), a snazzy blouse, a hat, scarf and coat (if you’re going in November) and you’re all set. DO NOT, I repeat DO NOT overpack. You WILL regret it.
  3. Make sure you contact your cell provider and turn on your international coverage. I was able to get MORE done and a lot quicker by being able to roam and use by Uber app and maps.
  4. Take a look at the New York Times “36 Hours In …” column for any and every city for things to do that are always spot on. I use it EVERY time I travel.

Well … That’s it for me for now. Good luck on your next adventure!

--

--

Myleik Teele

Founder & CEO Chief Experience Officer @curlBOX | Product Junkie | Avid Reader| Straight Shooter | Risk Taker | Currently Fearing Nothing