Layout

mylifewithoutdoor
2 min readOct 12, 2017

--

We strongly considered Bearfoot’s layout, but think we’ve ultimately landed on a bed in the back layout instead.

We have used the handy tool over at Sportsmobile to quickly play with different variants.

We will mock it up first with cheap lumber and use it for a bit to see if it really seems right for us. The images below are some provisional ideas that are still baking.

Sportsmobile has a layout tool that makes it quick and easy to play around with various layouts

I am kind of a nut about “sight lines” in that I don’t want a lot of clutter killing

the open feeling. I have noticed that most RV’s will jam every feature that one could possibly be desired, but the vehicle just ends up feeling like a collection of airplane bathrooms.

We obviously don’t want to live in a series of airplane bathrooms. The shower shown below seems like a nice way to prevent the #1 way that this occurs…

I like what this shower does for the sight lines, but I think it can be improved upon in several ways

I think this shower is long and narrow and ours would / will be short and wide though… as it seems the layout begs for that when I play around with things… more like the Sportsmobile layout and less like that shown in the photograph.

I think the second most “powerful” way that this occurs is when people have tons of floor-to-ceiling storage… whether it’s for hardware, kitchen, or closets… I am not into it. I’ll concede that we need it if we absolutely can’t fit our stuff in the van, but I’m going to push against it really really hard.

I don’t really know what I’m talking about from a architecture perspective, but when I looked at a million layouts and thought some sucked and some were awesome… it seemed like these “sightlines” were largely what I was responding to.

Wed Oct 25 update:

Thinking of getting some passenger seating in and moving the kitchen to the passenger side. This would make all plumbing be on one side and almost all electric on the other. There’s a certain system elegance in that.

--

--