Surfaces — a must to listen to

My Music Blog
4 min readOct 1, 2018

--

So lately there’s been one band that I’ve been listening to non-stop and am obsessed with and their name is Surfaces. Surfaces are a Texas based band made up of brother and sister Colin and Alexa Padalecki and Forrest Frank. Surfaces’ debut album Surf was released late 2017 and I have been obsessed with it. Their music is very relaxing with some ocean kinda vibes, exactly what I like. The album has 11 songs but today I’m going to talk about my top 3 favourites.

Image credit: http://www.surfacesmusic.com/

So I’ll start with my third favourite which is actually track 3: “24 / 7 / 365”. “24 / 7 / 365” is the most popular song on the album and I can see why. It’s the type of song that can lift your mood in seconds and is definitely a feel good song. The song is quite beachy and the vocal harmonies are beautiful. To me “24 / 7 / 365” is about a boy from the wrong side of the tracks chasing a girl who isn’t into him. As the song progresses you hear the girl warming to the boy and they eventually get together. This type of story line isn’t new but I love the way it is presented in such a happy and playful way. I could definitely see this song being played at the beach on a Sunday afternoon, you know, it’s just that kind of song.

Image credit: Surfaces Music

My second favourite is “Falling” which is track number 4. “Falling” is quite similar to “24 / 7 / 365” in the way that it’s a happier kind of song but it has a more prominent beat and more relaxed vocals. “Falling” is sung mostly by Alexa Padalecki and I think that’s why I like it so much because I am obsessed with her vocals, they are so soothing and her tone is beautiful. “Falling” is about falling in love with someone hard and all at once and my favourite line is “You solved my every riddle/You made it all just fine”. I love this because I think it sums up what a relationship should be, finding someone that is able to solve your uncertainties and makes you happy. Overall I think this is an amazing song and I love the production of it

Image Credit: Surfaces Music

Now my favourite song off the album also happens to be my favourite song of all time, which I know is a big statement but when I first heard this song it just stood out to me so much and I instantly knew I loved it and it was going to be one of my favourites. The song is track number 5: “Alone”. “Alone” begins with the vocals of Forrest Frank and is sung so beautifully, I swear, I tear up. I don’t know what it is about the song but it gets me so emotional. The song is quite simple with mainly just a guitar strumming simple chords, a calm beat and Forrest’s vocals and I think the simplicity is quite refreshing. Most songs nowadays are very electronic and focus more on the production rather than the vocals but, as I have mentioned before, the lyrics and vocals of a song are the make or break for me so when a voice like Forrest’s is presented in a such a beautiful way I don’t there really needs to be much else. Lyrically the song can be taken in many different ways and adapted to how you are feeling at the time but to me it’s about growing up and almost looking back at your life, evaluating it. My favourite line is “When did we get in such a hurry/We moved too fast and the vision got blurry”. I think in today’s generation everyone is trying to grow up so fast and are just rushing through life, but my question is why. I don’t think many people know where they are going but they are in such a hurry to get there and in the line “We moved too fast and the vision got blurry” reflects this perfectly.

So that’s a little bit about an up and coming band that I hope gets more recognition and more listens. Surfaces are amazing and I would definitely recommend to anyone who likes groovy and relaxing tunes.

🎶

--

--