IELTS

My Nordic Journey
2 min readJun 11, 2023

--

This is the first thing I did before preparing my documents. Most Finnish universities require an overall band score of 6.5 on the IELTS Academic test for master’s applications. However, this requirement can vary depending on the specific course or university. It is important to check the university web pages for each course you have selected. I took the IELTS exam in September 2022. The first step I took was to book a slot for the exam a month in advance. This allowed me to set a clear goal of taking the IELTS exam in one month and gave me time to study and prepare. I aimed for a band score of 7.5 and was able to achieve an 8 through self-study. There are many YouTube tutorials available that you can refer to. I also recommend doing past papers to identify question types and patterns.

Steps that I can recommend

  1. Watch a YouTube video that explains the exam structure. Ex: https://youtu.be/Jzps8q2es7c
  2. List down question patterns.
  3. Complete one past paper.
  4. Identify your weaker areas.
  5. Allocate one week to address these areas.
  6. Do 3–4 questions per the patterns you have listed down before.
  7. If you are still lacking in a particular area, complete around 5 questions for that specific area.
  8. Practice past papers with timing, assuming you are in the real exam.
  9. If you have access to the British Council’s free mock test, take it 3–4 days before the actual examination.
  10. Place importance on listening and reading, as these two areas are often overlooked and can result in low scores for students.

--

--

My Nordic Journey

Sri Lankan girl, pursuing a master's at Aalto Uni. Follow my blog for tales of exploration and personal growth.