Bheeshma Stuti

Sujatha Ratnala
2 min readAug 6, 2023

Found the song very poignant and touching. Bheeshma’s admiration for Krishna in his last moments.. Seems surreal, reading the painting like narration.

A simple outline.. Written some months back.

Now that I am done with my DUTY, may I retire my mind onto YOU.

The most desirable of all the worlds, emanating like the darkness of Tamala tree, covered by the orb of golden rays, and face blossoming like a lotus, May I meditate on YOU, O friend of Arjuna, without looking for any results..

May I meditate on YOU.. In that BATTLEFIELD, locks of your hair turned ashen by the dust of the galloping horses..

Beads of sweat and labour intensified by my sharp arrows onto you. May I meditate onto YOU.

Heeding to your friend, you entered the battlefield. Your glance was enough to decimate. May I meditate on YOU.

When ARJUNA was clouded by ignorance, he was enlightened by your GITA. May I meditate on YOUR lotus feet.

Not heeding to your own PLEDGE, for the sake of fulfilling my pledge, your pulled the wheel and rushed onto me, like a lion marching towards a bull. May I heed on to YOU..

May you be my ultimate destination.. You sported angry look, when charged by my fierce ARROWS breaking smashing your armour..

His ROPES in charge of the horses, and every move to protect ARJUN’s CHARIOT.. A befitting sight liberating the soldiers..

In my final moments, May I relish on HIM, my destination!

The GOPA vadhus charmed by his gait and smile, and even imitating him. May I mediate upon HIM..

I still recollect.. In the assembly of elite gathering at Yudhistira’s Raajasooya YAGYA, HE was the center of attraction. May I mediate upon HIM..

As I meditate and merge, letting go of my differences and delusions.. I see HIM in every heart just like the mighty SUN seen differently in every direction.

And SUTA Muni concluded..

Thus Bheeshma merged himself with his mind speech sight actions, and breathed his last.

References

Chant https://youtu.be/3wnHcKX-cfI

Word by word meaning from Bhagawatham https://vedabase.io/en/library/sb/1/9/32/

--

--

Sujatha Ratnala

I write.. I weave.. I walk.. कवयामि.. वयामि.. यामि.. Musings on Patterns, Science, Linguistics, Sanskrit et al..