Swikee Purwodadi

Ingrid
2 min readDec 26, 2017
Swikee Purwodadi

Swike is purwodadi specialities cuisine. Using frog as the main ingredient, this cuisine is a little daredevil for some people (including me) but for Purwodadi society it is special delicacy. At first I also doubt myself whether I can eat it or not, but after i brace myself and have the first bite, wow 😮 actually this is good. Not bad at all, especially the deep fry one, it’s crispy and tasty, just like eat fried chicken or fish finger, yum 😋.

The name “Swikee” is from Hokkian dialect (水雞, Pe̍h-ōe-jī: súi-ke) sui (water) and ke (chicken), which probably an euphemism to refer frog as “water chicken”

Swikee cook in two different styles, deep fry and soup, actually you can also cook it in stir fry but this technique is not as popular as the other two.

Before it cook, the frog legs is marinated with lime, salt and pepper. Marinated frog leg cook in tauco (fermented soybeans paste) , garlic, ginger, and chopped celery, sprinkle with fried garlic once it’s ready to serve. Enjoy it with warm steamed rice 😋.

For newbe like me, i strongly suggest try the deep fry first, it will change your mind completely about this dish.

Try it I Dare You 😎

Originally published at indonesianstreetfood.wordpress.com on December 26, 2017.

--

--