Here’s Why You’re Tired of Hearing about Ukraine (And What To Do About It)

Anastasia Lebedenko
8 min readJun 2, 2024
Photo by Hasan Almasi on Unsplash

A full-scale war in the middle of Europe.
That didn’t seem possible to you even some three years ago.

But now, it’s a part of your daily reality. You see news from the Ukrainian frontlines every other day. Political experts voicing their opinions on this war’s future. An endless stream of photos from worldwide reporters.

This country you barely heard about for your whole life now takes up a separate room in your mind vault.

How do I know this?
I’m a Ukrainian who has lived off a nomadic lifestyle (you can guess why) for the last two years, which helped me meet dozens of foreigners on my way. Learning where I’m from, they would ask questions about the war Western media never answers.

Each conversation inevitably circled back to one:
- But what can I do?

(Credit: Safwan Dahoul)

I get it.
That sinking feeling of helplessness.
War is a situation so totally out of your control, it seems there is nothing you can do about it.

--

--

Anastasia Lebedenko

A human in war. Empathy-driven. Rediscovering what it means to be Ukrainian. Stories, reflections, and experiences of one human being. Find contacts in "About."