I’m Ukrainian. Stop comparing my suffering to Palestinians’.

hear me out

Anastasia Lebedenko
6 min readFeb 18, 2024

📌 Small note: I just launched my Substack! Even more personal insights on living through war in Ukraine, modern politics, and human stories. Enjoy:)

(Credit: Twitter / X, NYT)

“Israel has killed more women and children than have been killed in Ukraine,” read the New York Times title page from November 26, 2023.

As a Ukrainian, this was one of the most appalling phrasing I’ve encountered in press for months. And believe me, I read a lot of gut-wrenching news daily.

If you followed the Israel-Palestine conflict, you almost certainly stumbled upon similar “death toll” or “financial aid” comparisons with other ongoing conflicts. Perhaps you’ve seen calls to “switch” from one war to another. Or even government-blaming for “paying attention to the wrong war.”

Such comparisons are more monstrous than you think.
Here’s why.

What about Palestine / Iran / Syria / Sudan / Yemen / Ukraine / … ?

You’ve probably seen at least one such comment on your social media feed.

--

--

Anastasia Lebedenko

A human in war. Rediscovering what it means to be Ukrainian. Reflections & experiences of one human being. Find contacts in "About." substack.com/@apersonalwar