Organic growth on Instagram is not dead

Aiman Fatima(She/her)
3 min readJan 18, 2021

--

STOP CRIBBING ABOUT THE CHANGE IN ALGORITHM

I love Instagram! Don't judge me yet. Instagram is way beyond sassy pictures, fake positivity, and people pretending to live a perfect life. It is an excellent place to connect with like-minded people. I found my tribe through Instagram only. I have been using Instagram for, past three years, but I recently started my content creation journey on Instagram. Until June 2020, I was a consumer, but now I'm both a consumer and a creator.

I had this little dream of growing a following on Instagram for a long time, and I tried my best to accomplish it. I wanted to help people and inspire them, but I used the wrong growth strategies like follow-unfollow.

In a brief period, I have managed to gain more than 2500 followers. I know that is not a big deal for many of you, but if you are looking to grow on Instagram, I have some tips.

Audit your profile

This may sound silly, but you need to audit your profile so that people will get a clear idea about you and your profile when they visit your page. Add proper highlights, update your bio, choose a color palette, and give your profile a professional look.

Create unique content

On social media, content is everything. Content attracts. Content educates. Content sells. Content inspires. Content does everything. You need to create unique content to stand out from the crowd and grab the audience's attention.

Build a strong community

In 2021 followers don't mean anything. If you are looking to monetize your account and build an audience, you need to build a community. Connect with other like-minded people, leave comments on their posts, build genuine relationships, and most importantly, SOCIALIZE. To grow on social, you need to be social; there is no other option.

Use proper strategies

For a long time, I was not growing because I was using the wrong strategies.

Here is a list of a few growth strategies:

  • Post at a specific time every day when your audience is most active. (Use insights)
  • Do proper # research: Don’t use big hashtags. Hashtags with hundred k plus post, if your account is small.
  • 502 strategy: Go to the hashtag section on your Instagram and leave comments and likes on recent posts of at least 50 accounts.

Be consistent

Consistency is key. To grow on any platform, you need to post consistently. Instagram rewards consistent creators. But consistency is hard as well. So, what you can do is you can create content in a batch. You can create a week's content in a day.

Use reels

Reels are the latest features of Instagram. Many people don't like reels as they feel reels are unnecessary, but I personally love watching reels. Instagram algorithm favours reel. If you will create reels your content will get more reach.

Use all features

Don't just post on the feed and disappear. Use all the Instagram features. Go live, post stories, post igtv videos, post reels, single images and carousel. Create all type of content.

--

--