Back to Nature

Nicole Martin
2 min readOct 8, 2014

It was right after breakfast and we were embarking on an adventure.

This was how our typical summer mornings would start throughout childhood. My sister and I would wake up, eat our favorite flavored pop-tarts, (frosted strawberry & cinnamon, respectively) and then we’d be running out the door to head down to “The Ditch”.

This is where we all connected, no worries about school, parents, soccer practices; nothing. We were care free and able to let ourselves get completely lost and immersed in nature. We went on arduous ambitious missions to capture frogs and minnow’s, skip rocks in the creek, and climb up the tallest trees. Through nature we discovered our truest selves and found balance & peace.

Fast-forward.

13 years later...

How often does a day go by when you end up stuck in the office all day and realize by the time you leave, you haven’t been exposed to a single ray of sunshine? How often do you convince yourself that you can’t possibly take that 15 minute break because your swamped with work? Or what about when you skip out on the weekend trips to Tahoe with friends and family because you are so convinced that you need to be on call all weekend?

This was a pattern I found myself falling into all too often. I felt like I was being smothered by corporate society and was striving for breath.

This is when I realized I needed a change. I started re-prioritizing my work days and my weekends. I managed my time better so that I could fit in that 15 minute walk outside along the embarcadero during my lunch hour. I said yes to the camping trips and hikes up in Tahoe and down in Yosemite.

I can not stress enough how important it is to let go and to truly let yourself get lost in nature. Go on an adventure and get back to your roots. It’s through nature that you’re able to quiet your mind, enjoy wonderful company, and get away from all of the distractions that seem to crawl their way into everyday life.

Everyone has their inner childhood self still within them, no matter how deep.

Now it’s your turn; get back to nature.

--

--