flowchart 🌊

Natalie Wong
2 min readJul 6, 2022

--

What is a flowchart?

A flowchart is a graphical representation of business processes designed to explain complex things in simple words. Its essence is reflected in the name — chart of a flow.

Long story short, it’s a diagram made of forms and symbols that depict a process or algorithm. These forms are connected with arrows to show the direction of process flow.

Flowcharts are used to plan, document, study, communicate. Complex processes are depicted as clear and simple diagrams. Everyone can understand the message.

General flowchart symbols ⭕❌⬇

  1. The Oval means a beginning or an end. That’s why it’s also called ‘terminator’. I will start and end my flowchart with this shape.
  2. The Rectangle is one step of the process and the most frequently-used shape. Every step in the process depicted should be represented with it.
  3. The Arrow indicates directions. It connects flowchart parts and helps to tell the whole story: exposition, climax, and resolution.
  4. The Diamond means a decision. Be it a binary, one-of-three or even complex decision, it has its own subsequent story.

train access wayfinding flowchart🚂

Today, I found a similar offering to my intended project. Without further ado, let’s get into it.

The tasks that individuals may perform in a train station is shown below where the ultimate goal of wayfinding is to gain access to the desired train, however, within the station confines individuals may wish to access other facilities such as food stores, bathrooms, telephones, etc.

my interactive wayfinding experience flowchart✨

Just as the previous flowchart was based on a wayfinding experience, I have created a similar flowchart showing the process from the start of a commuter’s journey from the train station to the destination.

The To-Be journey helped me to visualised how my flowchart would look like.

Conclusion

I’m excited to move forward with this project, and I look forward to exploring how I will design the elements of a physical product. I think it will be fun to create a prototype based on this structure and hone in on the important interactions.

--

--