How I Revise My Novel In Three Simple Steps

Torshie Torto
The Write Network
Published in
7 min readDec 9, 2022

--

The first draft of anything is shit. Ernest Hemingway said that. Not little old me.

Finishing your first draft is the first stage of writing a book. The real work begins at the revision stage. As Hemingway said, writing is rewriting.

Revision is a cumbersome process that has the potential to make any writer lose their mind. This is especially the case if you have a lengthy novel with over seventy thousand words.

But like most complex things, revision shouldn’t be a soul-sucking process if you break it into small manageable tasks. To keep me sane, I break down the revision process into three steps, and I work on one step at a time.

Before I dive into these steps, however, I’ll like to remind you to let your manuscript rest for a while once you finish your first draft. Don’t start revising the book as soon as it’s done.

I recommend at least two weeks away from your novel. I even forbid you from thinking about anything remotely related to your story. I take at least a month’s break away from my first draft to give me a fresh perspective. That way, it’s easier to find the mistakes.

You don’t have to stop writing while letting your story breathe. Use that time to work on something else. Write a short story, a novella, or perhaps another novel…

--

--