How I Wrote Every Day for Thirty Days

Every writer can adopt a writing habit.

Torshie Torto
The Write Network

--

Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

Writers write.

It’s pretty simple like that. But for me, it wasn’t that simple. I mean, yes, I’ve always called myself a writer, but I wasn’t doing a whole lot of writing to prove that I was indeed worthy of this title.

I was lying to myself, and I knew it. It made me feel like a fraud. Since 2020, I’ve been consciously making the effort to turn things around. In the last two years alone, I’ve steadily made progress by writing more than I ever had in the last ten years.

While I am proud of myself, I felt like that wasn’t enough. I wasn’t as productive a writer as I wanted to be. Often, I would find myself slipping back into my old ways of indiscipline and that was all because I hadn’t yet formed a writing habit.

Yes, I would write consistently for many days. But I would also go for weeks without writing a single thing. It was a far better improvement than my absolutely lazy self in the past, but it was still not good enough.

In November 2022, I decided to get back to blogging after neglecting my blog for so long. I had also been on Medium for years but had never published a single article. I vowed to change that in November.

--

--