Fiction

The Boy Who Broke the Moon

A boy, a fairy, and the apocalypse.

Torshie Torto
Adesaman
Published in
10 min readMay 19, 2023

--

Photo by Aziz Acharki on Unsplash

My name is Lenny Nii Lartey, and this is the story of how I broke the moon. Not the most dramatic of introductions but trust me when I tell you that this story is going to piss you off.

It all began one Friday morning, three days before my twelfth birthday. While my mother was at work and I was home playing video games, a blinding white light suddenly flooded my room. I squinted, shielding my eyes. By the time the light vanished, a small pink creature barely bigger than my palm flew in my face.

“We meet again, Lenny.”

I froze as the bright green eyes of the miniature creature gazed at me.

“Samerid.” I clenched my jaws. “You need to leave. Now.”

Now, why would I be mean to the adorable fairy? Um, first of all, that was no fairy, I assure you. That was a doomer. I made that name up after I learned what doomers were capable of. Wherever they went, doom followed. I would know. My life always became a doomsday movie whenever Samerid showed up.

The doomer first appeared to me when I was only two years old. And yes, little old me thought that was a tooth fairy. Can you blame me? Samerid was small and pink with tiny white wings and the most adorable smile…

--

--