What Sevillanas taught me about healthy aging

Nabila Mella Garip
3 min readJun 5, 2023

--

Woman in Red and Black Dress Dancing (Jose Manuel Espigares Garcia, Pexels).

In one of my previous blog posts, I explained that since I moved to Spain, I have been learning Sevillanas. This dance style of Spanish dance (in a nutshell) consists of graceful hand gestures and making noises with your shoes against the floor. It has a structured, pre-choreographed routine (unlike flamenco), and is divided into four sections. Sevillanas are usually performed at ferias (fairs), parties, and any type of gathering, and everyone joins the dance.

This post, however, is not about sevillanas themselves, but what they taught me about healthy aging. If you’re interested, read more about sevillanas here and here.

When I arrived in Spain and decided to learn sevillanas, I had no clue that this was mostly an older adult activity. Originally, I had enrolled in this class in an attempt to make friends in a new city. One can only imagine my surprise when I entered the room and it was full of ladies that could have been my grandmother.

Equitable societies and independent older adults

As a public health professional, I’m always looking at societies and how they are set up to enable certain lifestyles. My impression of Spain has been that it is a progressive and equitable society, in that it allows for older adults to live actively and socially.

This was a culture shock for me, as my impression of aging and older adults in the Dominican Republic (DR) was always, sadly, one of dependence and confinement. Like DR, many places are not built to help older adults live independent lives, and I believe this is a disservice to them and their societies. Confined adults grow weaker and more dependent every day, and often they do so earlier than they would in other circumstances. I saw this in the older adults in my own family, especially during the COVID-19 pandemic when we were all confined.

Active aging and political engagement

Political participation of older adults in Spain is on the rise, given the demographic curve and their increased levels of education, which could also explain why many policies are catered to them. This political engagement may contribute to policies and initiatives that cater to the needs of older adults.

The Spanish government (at the autonomous region level) offers activities to foster active and healthy aging, like in the Community of Madrid, where they offer anything from yoga to even discounted trips to national or international destinations.

It is, of course, in the government’s best interest to offer these incentives, as Spain has free universal healthcare. This means that the government has to incur the cost of an unhealthy population. Ultimately, it is cheaper for the government to provide opportunities for physical activity and healthy lifestyles than to not do so.

Passion, fun, camaraderie

Although I have been dancing for over 20 years, my fellow dancers often perform better than me. This has truly changed my perspective on who can dance, when, and how.

From these ladies, I have felt the passion and enjoyment they exude when performing Sevillanas. It has also reinforced in me the idea that it is never too late to learn. Aging should not limit one’s ability to acquire new skills or engage in new activities.

One thing about Sevillanas is that they have a strong sensual and feminine aspect. Dance is proven to help with one’s overall physical and mental health and self-esteem, especially when this can be neglected or overlooked.

Socializing is important at any age. In Madrid, I always see groups of older adults traveling, socializing, and being physically active. Engaging in activities that bring joy and foster a sense of camaraderie, especially for older adults, brings an astonishing positive impact on their lives.

Healthy aging involves embracing lifelong learning, pursuing passions, and maintaining an active social life. It is admirable how societies can promote healthy aging with the right public policies in place. We must advocate for societies to prioritize the well-being and empowerment of older adults, who deserve to be independent, pursue new interests, and live fulfilling and active lives, regardless of their age.

Thank you for reading! If you liked my article, visit my website.

--

--

Nabila Mella Garip

Global health and foreign affairs professional focused on policy, research, and comms. Lived in 6 countries in 6 years. Dancer. Ice cream taster. AI enthusiast.