My Journey from Personal Struggles to Bitcoin Development

Nafisa Lawal Idris
4 min readSep 2, 2023

The year 2020 marked a significant turning point for many of us around the world, and my story was no exception. As the world grappled with the unforeseen challenges brought on by COVID-19, I found myself not only battling external uncertainties but also confronting my own personal demons. At times, I even contemplated whether I might be grappling with PTSD, although I acknowledged my limitations in diagnosing myself as a non-medical professional.

It was during one of those candid conversations with my cousin that my path took an unexpected twist. Amid innocent banter, he introduced me to the concept of cryptocurrency. At first, the jargon sounded like a foreign language, but my curiosity was piqued. Little did I know that this seemingly incomprehensible world would captivate my attention and reshape the course of my life.

My journey into the realm of cryptocurrencies began with the Trust Wallet and rapidly escalated from there. My cousin guided me through the intricacies of trading, imparting strategies that involved buying low, selling high or exercising patience through the act of holding. In time, I honed my skills and became proficient in navigating the digital currency market. My fascination with this innovative landscape grew exponentially, leading me to transition from active trading to long-term investment, starting in 2022.

As my passion for digital currency deepened, it verged on an obsession. I sought out every opportunity to learn more about this revolutionary concept, hungry for knowledge and eager to make my mark. Fate intervened, granting me an opportunity I could scarcely believe. I was selected for the Qala African Developers Program, a stepping stone to a potential fellowship. The journey began with the Qala Mastering Bitcoin Course a six-week odyssey that transported me to an alternate galaxy of knowledge.

While the challenges were immense, the learning curve steep and the concepts complex, I was undeterred. The dedication and technical rigour demanded were met with enthusiasm, as each moment invested felt like a stepping stone towards a greater understanding of Bitcoin development. I progressed through the Qala Bitcoin Development Protocol Course a five-week challenge that tested my resilience and expanded my expertise even further.

As I navigated these stages, I stood on the cusp of a pivotal moment the final stage that would determine my eligibility for the coveted fellowship. The prospect of collaborating with like-minded visionaries and experts, contributing to real-world projects and nurturing the growth of the Bitcoin community for the long term ignited a fire within me.

In tandem with my technical evolution, my relationship with GitHub flourished. The platform became my canvas where I painted strokes of innovation and shared my contributions with the world. My newfound prowess in this realm proved to be invaluable, empowering me to harness the power of technology to shape my ideas.

Fuelled by this momentum, I embarked on a new endeavour learning the programming language “Rust.” The prospect of integrating my data science skills with this innovative language, alongside Bitcoin, Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence, enthralled me. I envisioned projects that harnessed the synergy between these domains to solve real-world problems and create lasting impact.

As I reflect on my journey, I am reminded that life’s unforeseen challenges can, in fact, be gateways to unforeseen opportunities. My story underscores the power of curiosity, passion and perseverance to transform personal battles into triumphant narratives. Through my voyage into the realm of digital currency, I have found not just a passion, but a purpose a commitment to leveraging technology for the betterment of the world around me.

--

--

Nafisa Lawal Idris

Data scientist passionate about innovation. 3+ years experience in EdTech and Extended Reality (XR). Advocate for diversity in tech. Speaker and Mentor.