THE WORDS OF A DYING SOLDIER

Ghan Shyam
2 min readFeb 10, 2024

--

Have we truly known the heroes who have made sacrifices for us to live in the land we now inhabit?
Does history rightly record the people who have died in the past for us to be alive in the present? Those who are responsible for us sleeping without fear in our homes??
…………………………………….

Everyone living has something to say before they leave, something to express, and something to share with those around them. Let us see, hear, or feel what a soldier has to tell us…………………The words of a true soldier — a warrior who is determined to kill even death if it stops him from reaching his goal!

This is my poem ‘The Words of a Dying Soldier’ that dives into the heart of a warrior who fights for us to live peacefully, even when he knows that he won’t be alive to see that happening!

…………………………………….

Image courtesy:https://www.wallpaperup.com/1287271/Fantasy_artistic_art.html

Side of life staying am I

But not of me but all of yours

If one can perish for millions to bloom,

Then lucky am I to be that one.

Never did I wish

To live as a human

Where the life I shall lead

Would count precious than yours.

Never should I want

My name on those books

That praise those who lived

Than those who died.

What came with me won’t go with me

What it is that doesn’t go? you shall ask,

Life it is that someone gave me,

And fortunate am I to give it to a lot.

And then I live on

Through all your hearts

Which is better to live

Than with a medal on my chest.

Oh, my worlds

I am losing my words

To that inch of steel

That’s tearing my flesh.

To all those who stay

May this reach you

The final batch of words

That flows from my heart.

If I can fight,

With death in my heart

Then why not live?

With life in your soul!

© Ghan Shyam B Pai

--

--

Ghan Shyam

On a journey to the beginnings and the ends of the cosmos.