Ice and Gloves

Nalan Köroğlu
1 min readJan 2, 2017

--

Cold bites fingertips first.

I had had two pair of gloves but both of them were torn. It was useless to try mending them. But I had tried anyway. In the mean time I was going out with bare hands. I was trying to cover my hands with my jacket’s sleeves while walking.

There were no way to hide my fingers from ıcy wind. It crawls and finds the most sensitive points of the tips every single time. That touch gives an unexpected pain which reachs the brain instantly. It is cruel and pleasant at the same time because with that pain I feel alive.

First weeks of winter passed away avoiding desperately from freezing blow and lots of ıdeas I have thought about it. One evening I put my gloves on my lap. Each pair had different damaged parts and when I matched them they covered their holes. I wore two pairs on my hands making layers. Then bound each of them by sewing fingertips and ankles.

In the morning, freezing blow was still on work. Puddles were all frozen and cubbles were slippery. But I wasn’t afraid any of that. I wasn’t afraid of loosing balance or falling down. Cause I had a two layer gloves keeping my hands warm. My arms were free to keep me balanced.

--

--

Nalan Köroğlu

Content Writer, Fiction Writer, Cowriter of “Upon an Asteroid WRIPE8” (on sale at Amazon) For other articles and books: nalankoroglu.wordpress.com