regret

Nancy Key
3 min readMay 21, 2023

--

regret is a funny thing,

it enters in through the cracks in the floor,

and at your worst, mirrors in your

relationships will reflect

you, and an unrecognizable gaze

will judge your unconscious actions

how did we get here?

really, i could spend

the rest of my short-lived days

on this planet swimming

in regret

when it came first,

i let it pool up at my

ankles like a shower

with a drain clogged

and i’d cry over dirt,

unwilling to turn the

water off regardless

of how hard i’d scrubbed

and i danced and stomped

around in the flood at

my feet, letting it seep

into my skin and soak my

bones in vapid cold

but as i forgot how

to stand, i found a solemn

reminder in the swirls

of the despair — a twisted

reflection, distorted image,

of a happiness i had once

and the memory of a me,

happy, warm, amplified

the cold at my shins

and made any hope i’d

had to stand on wash down

the drain with the rest of

my life

so, left empty by the

oathes to myself broken

by mistakes i’d made, i

picked up the pieces of

the mirror i’d smashed with

stones and hammers, and pieced

it together, ignoring the scarlet ribbon

as it left my tender palms

and in the shower, then

i had pools of blood clearing

a drain that had clogged, i

was rinsed by the mead of

my grip, i was crucified

and forgiven by the mirror

that was left pieces in my

hands reminding me of what

i was not

happy

and though regret almost drowned

me once or twice, i got to

know her cold sting, and i realized

i’d preferred hot tea and a blanket, so

i’d spend the months patching

up holes in the attic floor and bathroom

tile, i’d spend the months falling

asleep at the foot of my bed, holding

a cup of tea i’d made myself, convinced

the screams from the kettle could

drown out the slow dripping

of my past down the kitchen

walls

and eventually, the showerhead

turned off altogether.

and sipping on chamomile,

i found one last piece of shattered

mirror, and the ghost trapped by

it’s rugged, bloody edge had nothing

to say, except he reminded me

that love’s pain is proof of

love’s truth

and so why regret love?

even if you weren’t the one,

you taught me something.

and i won’t thank you for it, no,

i thank me for my ability to learn,

and i thank my blood for pumping,

for keeping my toes warm in the freezing

depths of our memory

the regret stopped seeping in, now,

and so my bones are strengthened by

the knowledge that they have stood

while broken before.

--

--