A Greg Nicotero Remake of John Carpenter’s ‘Prince of Darkness’? Yes, Please!

Nancy O. Greene
3 min readAug 7, 2019
John Carpenter’s ‘Prince of Darkness’

Normally, I wouldn’t be all that excited about a remake of one of my favorite movies. Don’t get me wrong, some remakes are actually excellent and better than the original, especially if done by the original director and/or writer. So there are definitely exceptions to the “no remakes” view.

However, upon learning about this possible remake, I literally jumped for joy. Are you kidding me? Greg Nicotero remaking one of Carpenter’s classic films, possibly turning it into a streaming series? Yes, please! Absofrickinlutely! There’s little doubt that Carpenter would be involved, so of course this will be horror gold, hands down. What, what!!

One of the reasons for my excitement at the prospect of this project is that I didn’t realize until a few years ago just how potentially influential this movie has been on aspects of my worldview.

I was about eight or nine years old when I first saw Prince of Darkness. It was playing on television, in the evening I believe, and it just stayed with me. Particularly the image of the green liquid and the scene from the future at the end. Whenever I saw that it was on…

--

--