My husband is not a p***y

Nancy Sabino
5 min readNov 27, 2017

I consider myself to be a strong woman and I am in a leadership position but that does not mean my husband is pushover or a p***y.

I am a female leader in a tech company that my husband and I founded when we were 22 years old. Over the years, I have been discriminated against, assumptions made, doubted, questioned and yes, sometimes even overlooked because I am a woman in the tech industry (one example is that my employee was addressed before I was because they thought he was the boss…). I have fought against this stigma that women don’t know or aren’t interested in anything about technology AND business on both fronts. As I have become more and more involved in the industry and in business in general trying to grow my company the more I realize how different I am… a unicorn of sorts or that’s how I feel from time to time. I have been okay, fighting this uphill battle in my own way, on my own time because it’s what’s right.

As the conversations of equality and diversification have been more prevalent across many industries (and growing), there’s a side to this that I hadn’t realized was beginning to bother me. It has always been in the back of my mind but now, it’s something that I’m thinking more about. If I am thought of as a “less than” by my peers in the industry, what do they think of my husband when they realize I sit at the same table as he. I don’t hold the title…

--

--

Nancy Sabino

I am a passionate unorthodox introvert. Being a Hispanic female millennial entrepreneur (IT firm) since the age of 22 while being mom & wife has taught me a lot