Extract IPA from Jailbroken iOS 11 Device

Naphon Jaipaeng
2 min readMar 10, 2019

After IPA Installer stopped supporting at iOS 8 in 2015, I often find the ways to extract IPA form applications installed on iOS devices, but there is no hope of finding it. Until the last few months, I need to extract the IPA for my penetration work. I found the answer on Reddit.com as follows:

Get filza, Apps Manager -> “i” next to app -> bundle -> copy .app folder -> make new Payload folder somewhere -> paste .app inside Payload folder -> zip Payload folder -> rename .zip to .ipa -> profit

Reference : https://www.reddit.com/r/jailbreak/comments/8ef4zb/question_how_do_i_extract_an_ipa_from_an_iphone_8/

To save my sleep time I created a simple shell script to automate the step of extracting an IPA file. The concept is simple, just follow the steps above as you see in the code below.

Prerequisites

To use my script, all you need is install the following apps from Cydia.

Installation

Download the extract script “extract-ipa.sh” from my repo:

Then copy the script to the iOS Device and add execution bit permission.

chmod +x extract-ipa.sh

Usage

  • Find the absolute path of the application bundle.

Open Filza > Tap “Apps manager” > Tap “i”.

Tab “Bundle”.

Tab bundle Title > Hold the tab for Select All and copy the absolute path.

  • Extract IPA file.

Open NewTerm > Run “su” for use root privilege > Prepare extract command by type as follows:

./extract-ipa.sh

Paste the absolute path from Filza.

Now the command will look like this:

./extract-ipa.sh /absolute/path/to/bundle

Tab “return” on the keyboard and pray that the script will not crash. ;-)

Last but not least

I’m still looking for other ways that are easier. All of you can suggest other ways, including discussing with me about hacking stuff.

--

--