Andy Warhol

Nasakphol Thongkukiatkul
2 min readOct 12, 2021

--

“The banana actually made it into an erotic art show,” Lou Reed

Andy Warhol was an American artist, film director, and producer who was a leading figure in the Pop art movement. In the late 1960s Warhol produced and managed an experimental rock band The Velvet Underground. The band shows an experimental performance sensibilities and controversial lyrical topics, including drug abuse, prostitution, sadomasochism and sexual deviancy.

Coca-Cola allowed him to set himself apart from others in the art world: the Abstract Expressionists.
How did he get Banana as an inspiration of the album?

“There was one on Broadway that I had never seen before right down the street from Forbidden Planet and the greatest place ever, the mighty Strand Book Store. I went in and there was a lot of great stuff for me. I found some old records, a huge stash of outrageous and disgusting tabloid newspapers from the sixties which I kept buying there for a couple months afterward, and some cool old knick-knacks.

“I knocked into something on a crowded table full of junk and heard a big CLANG on the cement floor. I bent down to pick it up. It was one of those cheap triangular tin ashtrays that usually advertised car tires or something mundane. I picked it up (it was face down) and when I turned it over I was surprised to see…THE BANANA!!”

--

--