Stop saying you’re busy

Natalia Formosa
2 min readDec 2, 2017

--

I’ve been obsessed with the word “busy” lately. Being busy is part of a lifestyle, especially in the busiest city in America like New York. Overly conscious of time, a local New Yorker will never stop in the middle of a sidewalk. She plays by the rules of pedestrian traffic in the city and conforms to a “keep moving” mentality.

Debbie Millman, my brilliant mentor, claims that “busy is a decision”. She taught me, and many others, that you can always make time. Recently, I’ve been thinking about the state of being “busy” as I’ve started using that word more and more often. We all repeat omnipresent phrases that refer to “busyness,” that entered our vernacular and have become a staple in our everyday lives.

It’s because “busy” is a universal expression that creates a comfort bubble around us.

There are 4 common rationales for using the word “busy”:

“Busy” is a great excuse for anything, that doesn’t require further explanation. An excuse not only to others, but also to ourselves.

  • Sorry I haven’t called. I’ve been so busy.

“Busy” is a way of complaining in a socially acceptable way. A signal that things are not as they should be.

  • I’m so busy with Thanksgiving.

“Busy” is a signifier that we lost control over our lives and someone takes over. Either unconsciously or voluntarily.

  • I can’t go out tonight. I’m too busy at work.

“Busy” is a way to boost our self-esteem and widely manifest our importance.

  • My boss keeps me busy. I like keeping myself busy.

“Busy” is a mental misconception. It’s a meaningless term, but one that we all understand.

It is flexible enough to be used in both positive or negative context. Nonetheless, it’s creating an unhealthy illusion that affects our mental state, and that we all fall into. The more we feed it, the more we get caught up in it. On the other hand, we desire to free up from it.

Next time you claim you’re “busy” remember that busyness is a self-imposed contagious disease, one that you are spreading around. It’s infecting not only you, but also the people around you. I challenge you to eliminate the word “busy” from your vocabulary for a week, and I promise you’ll notice a difference in your mental state.

--

--