The Land where Germany and France fought over Centuries — Strasbourg

Natalie P. Tsao
4 min readMay 10, 2023

--

Strasbourg is situated in northeastern Franc and it is the capital city of Alsace. The Rhine River floated across Germany and France. You can take a river course here and learn about the history. I was on a river tour and that’s where I learned about the sad history of the unsettling battles between the French and Germans over this land. Since it’s located at the border between the two countries, conflicts seem to be inevitable.

When I was planning to write about Colmar in my next story, I got a picture of Colmar “suggested to you” that appeared on my Facebook. I thought that was trippy since my phone can even read my mind now?! I didn’t even turn on my Siri but it is still infiltrating my life.

I spent a couple of weeks in Strasbourg because I intended to visit Colmar. Strasbourg is only 40 miles (64 kilometers) away from Colmar so it’s easy to do a day trip.

I’m not qualified to be your travel guide. If you are truly interested in going to Strasbourg, you will look it up on the mighty Google or Tripadvisor. And when it comes to booking a flight and accommodation, you will probably do a better job than I do finding discounts online.

When I was planning my trip, I read some travel blogs written in Chinese. One thing that is fascinating about these Chinese travel bloggers is that they share every single detail of their trip, down to the breakfast they ate and the sanitary products that the hotel offers.

I, at your humble service, am here to share with you some of my experience and some personal photos. Hopefully, they will plant a seed in your mind like my phone did to me and intrigue you to go there.

I am simply your friendly neighbor blogger. :)

Hey, wasn’t Spiderman also a journalist, or is it Superman? Alright, no more pop culture references.

Strasbourg | Natalie Tsao

Voila~ Now you see why I want to suggest this town to all of you. Isn’t this the cutest place? I love the Tudor-style architecture. Alsace is the only place that has these Tudor houses in France.

Terrace of Strasbourg | Natalie Tsao
Night at Strasbourg | Natalie Tsao

I will suggest dining in the river restaurants because you can enjoy the scenery while you eat.

Restaurant on the River | Natalie Tsao
Dining on the river | Natalie Tsao

Don’t miss a chance to try Riesling white wine. Riesling is a white grape that originated in the Rhine region. This white wine tastes amazing when it is chilled so it’s perfect to chase away the summer heat.

Riesling | Natalie Tsao

Another way to get rid of summer heat is to have some ice cream. There’s no need to worry about diet because most of these sorbets are made of totally natural fruit.

A taste of heaven | Natalie Tsao
Little Vendor on the street | Natalie Tsao

I traveled there in the summertime. The sunlight in France is always so transparent and dazzling. It’s easy to get tanned or even sunburned when you get too comfortable under the sun. I usually wait till the afternoon to leave the hotel.

I heard Strasbourg is famous for being a Christmas town. Their Christmas Market will start about a month before Christmas. And they will have beautiful Christmas decor all over the city. Make sure to dress warm if you plan to travel there in winter.

Walking in the market and window shopping will be a fun way to spend your day. When you are in France, just relax as the French do.

I sincerely wish you all the luck. :)

--

--

Natalie P. Tsao

Love turns my Life of Travel into Poetry. Photography brings me Life Lessons. Thanks for the Support of my Followers & Fellow writers.