Nataraj Tunuguntla
2 min readFeb 3, 2021

Memory from 2004

This memento takes me back so vividly to an auditorium.

There I was, a 4th standard kid going for an inter school essay writing competition. As a kid I was always enthusiastic about competitions. I used to enrol for all the competitive olympiads and events. This was one of them, I gave my name for essay writing. After finishing my essay, I was passing by the auditorium and I saw my school students getting ready for the next event in the auditorium. Clearly there was some tension in the air, not knowing what it was I just casually went closer to see if I could talk to someone from my school. Quickly someone pointed out that I’m from their school, and a teacher asked me to join the quiz team for juniors as the person who was supposed to come, didn’t show up. I jumped in on the opportunity and took part in the quiz and eventually won the quiz. That was such an interesting and exhilarating day for me, even today I remember it very clearly.

Fast forward one year, 2005 State bank day celebrations and the teacher responsible for sending kids to this competition straight up came to me and asked if I would be able to join, (more like you are going for this). I happily agreed, next day morning arrives, I was casually enjoying my Sunday breakfast with Bhagavatam on TV, forgot that there is a quiz competition that I have to show up at. An hour later I realised and quickly asked my staff to drop me on a rainy day. After reaching there, I saw there was an impromptu replacement for me and they had finished the quiz by the time I reached.

Alas, what a day! Nevertheless that triggered my passion for quizzing and there onwards I always wanted to be part of my school or quizzing team whenever they had one.