Creative Entrepreneurship

Stop Romanticizing Your Freelancing Career

Natasha Nichole Lake
4 min readOct 10, 2021
Adobe Stock.

Be relentless.

I joined the passion economy years before work from home transformed into a popular SEO phrase and being passionate was so profitable.

I’ve always wanted to be an entrepreneur. But walking away from a corporate role felt counter-intuitive for a millennial black woman who had finally shattered the illusory glass ceiling and started seeing life-changing deposits in her bank account.

When I walked away from an executive position at a thriving start-up, I thought I was being irresponsible and impulsive.

No one clapped when I walked out of my glass-encased office for the last time, searching for spiritual sustenance and a sustainable living as a writer. I knew walking away from that kind of stability seemed ridiculous, I did it anyway. For any creative who can’t quiet that inner-voice crying out for a more intentional existence, being relentless is the only way forward.

Be real with yourself.

Six months before becoming a full-time freelancer, I started researching how to be productive and profitable while working from home. The articles that applied to my situation were few and far between. Most of the copy reeked of privilege and unrealistic…

--

--