The underrated, magical, wildly effective art of moving in silence

Natasha Nichole Lake
4 min readJul 25, 2022
Adobe Stock.

I know how to motivate people. I spent most of my career using consulting and coaching as a deterrent, an avoidance method so I wouldn’t have to deal with my insecurities and chase my own dreams.

While working with clients and performing for audiences, I learned so much about the reality of slow-growing a vision vs. promoting an idea for the sole purpose of getting attention.

Growth is silent. It happens in the middle of the night, underground. It happens in the belly, or the mind.

Self-promotion is the firework spectacle that most people crave in the social media era.

Necessary, methodological growth is underwhelming and sometimes, distracting for those who only want to hear the oooh’s and aaa’s that accompany the spectacle.

I get it. I’ve witnessed the internet’s majestic ability to launch someone from the abyss into the room where it happens, overnight.

I started college in 2004, the year Facebook went live on campuses nationwide.

It was the best of times. It was the worst of times.

Naive and exposed to a world I wasn’t ready for, I found myself in rooms with men who only pretended to be interested in consent and women who’d rather slit my throat than…

--

--