CS371p Fall 2021: Esteban Nathan Guzman — Blog 3

Esteban Nathan Guzman
2 min readSep 13, 2021

--

Hi! I’m Nathan Guzman and this is my third blog post for CS371p.

  • What did you do this past week?

I mainly worked on the Collatz Project. I was stuck on the cache for a while but I managed to solve it. I also started to play the guitar again after a couple of years of not practicing and stuff.

  • What’s in your way?

I actually tried to implement a solution using recursion, but it used too much memory so it didn’t work. The cache was a bit hard to implement. I was also getting the wrong answer but I saw an Ed post that helped me solve it. I solved it by using int_fast64_t instead of unsigned int for some functions.

  • What will you do next week?

I have an assignment for my Databases class that I have to complete before Tuesday. I haven’t started yet because I was focusing on the Collatz project. There is also going to be a scavenger hunt in my Behavioral Ethics class which I am excited for.

  • If you read it, what did you think of the Paper #3: Continuos Integration?

I think that Continuous Integration is something that all developers should learn about. After reading the article it has convinced me that there are many benefits to CI, the only thing is that you also have to write test, and more stuff. I hadn’t heard about CI before this class, but I know that learning about it will help me in the future.

  • What was your experience of IsPrime and Collatz optimizations? (this question will vary, week to week)

It was interesting to learn about these optimizations, I hadn’t though about them before the lecture. Some were easy to implement and some were a bit harder.

  • What made you happy this week?

Finishing this project was cool. I also went on a 10k run which was awesome! I also played a ton of Overwatch and Warzone which was fun.

  • What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

If you want to get into running, definitely try the guided runs in the Nike Run Club App. The app is free and the coaching on the guided runs is great!

--

--