Five Essential Rules to Casual Sexual Relationships

Nate Chai
5 min readAug 5, 2019

The thing I’ve been most anxious about recently is best summarised by one of the questions that OKCupid asks of its members.

“Regardless of Future Plans, which of these is most important to you right now?”
- Sex
- Love”

Jesus, you might as well have asked me if I thought that black holes could feasibly be used in inter-stellar travel.

It feels like the question should come with a caveat, right?

“- Sex
- Love
- Sex (but don’t worry, it’s not just sex that I’m looking for. There will also be emotional intimacy and we’re not just going to have sex, we’re also going to have to enjoy each others company. It’s also not that I’m not open to the idea of falling in love, it’s just I’m not focussing on that area of my life right now)”

Sex is a weird one.

We’ve got the people that are all “sex-positivity,” “don’t kink-shame me,” and “we shouldn’t be ashamed of who we are” which I can totally see the benefits of. Better sex education and a more open discussion about sex in general would benefit society greatly. The more open we are about all this means that, I think, we’ll all be less crazy about all the weird shit we get off on.

On the other hand…doesn’t that kinda ruin the fun?

--

--

Nate Chai

I help people write books, share their stories, and present their message to the world — www.storywand.co