Putting it All Together: Adventures in Nutrition Counseling Part I

Nate Smith
3 min readJan 24, 2015

Over the last several months I’ve been interested in applying a no-nonsense, scientific approach to food and supplementation. I’m weighing about 178 pounds, and I’m competing in Olympic-style weightlifting in the eighty-five kilogram class, or 187 pounds. Putting on some muscle would help me be more competitive in my class by increasing my strength and power. To set me on the best path, I went to nutrition expert Veronica Bumpass. She’s helping me get the details straight, but following the same principles I discussed in my last several posts.

First, track what you eat in an objective way without trying to change anything. I started using the MyFitnessPal app to find a baseline, then increased my intake to the macronutrients suggested by Eat to Perform. My biggest questions were if my current macronutrient ratios were appropriate for my current goals and if my carbohydrate intake should be lower on rest days than training days.

The most important thing is calories consumed in the course of a day. Veronica kept my intake at about 2,880 calories.

The next most important thing is your macronutrients. Veronica raised my grams protein to match my bodyweight in pounds (twenty-five percent of calories) to support growth of lean muscle mass. She also increased my carbohydrate consumption to 360 grams (fifty percent) every day to fuel my training. Finally, she decreased my fat intake to 80 grams (twenty-five percent). Although sodium is a micronutrient, she reduced my high salt intake to help me shed some water weight.

After that is timing. Veronica increased my number of meals to five for better digestion and metabolic response plus a post-workout whey and creatine supplement with oats and a piece of fruit for recovery.

Last is the composition of macronutrients. My complex carbohydrates (sweet potatoes, rice, and other grains) are to be eaten during the day, with simple (fruit) and fibrous (vegetables) types to compose the carbs for the last meal.

It doesn’t work without a mental strategy. Veronica’s services also includes weekly motivational exercises and a grading system to help you “game” the process.

The most challenging parts of the plan are how lean it is and the number of meals. I’m coming from a diet of butter coffee and 85/15 grass-fed beef, and now I’m eating things like 93/7 ground turkey, egg whites, and fat-free yogurt. I’m staying satiated, so I’m happy in that respect.

I found that the best way to use MyFitnessPal is to input all the foods for the day in the morning so you know what you’re eating throughout and don’t have to guess. That way if you follow your plan, you’ll meet all your calorie and macronutrient goals.

Connect with Adaptgen: Newsletter Instagram Facebook

Contact Veronica Bumpass to get started on your own nutrition journey: vbump84@gmail.com

--

--

Nate Smith

Former San Francisco CrossFit intern coach living in Austin, Texas.