Nathan Barba’s Apology to Nature

Nathan Barba
2 min readJun 27, 2024

--

Hello world!

My name is Nathan Barba. Like my bio says, I’m an avid hiker and adventurer based in the San Francisco Bay Area, and in recent months I’ve started sharing some of my adventures online through images and videos on TikTok, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, and YouTube.

However, I also wanted to write about them, so I decided I would start a Medium blog!

For my first Medium post, I want to start off with an official apology to nature. I feel the need to speak from the heart and address something that weighs heavily on my mind: the impact humans have had on our environment.

For centuries, we’ve taken from nature without considering the consequences. We’ve polluted our air and water, decimated forests, and driven countless species to the brink of extinction. The result? Global warming and climate change — a crisis that threatens our very existence.

I want to apologize to nature for the harm we’ve caused. I am deeply sorry for the damage and disruption our actions have inflicted upon this beautiful planet.

Nature has always been a sanctuary for me. Whether it’s the tranquility of a forest, the calming sound of waves crashing on a beach, or the simple pleasure of a walk in the park, nature brings me peace and a sense of connection that I find nowhere else. That’s why I share so many videos and images of these experiences on my social media platforms. I want everyone to see and feel what I feel — the incredible beauty and serenity that nature offers.

But more than that, I want to inspire action. We all have a part to play in protecting and preserving our planet. Simple actions like reducing waste, recycling, conserving water, and supporting sustainable practices can have a big impact.

Let’s work together to clean up our planet and ensure that future generations can enjoy the same natural wonders we do today. Thank you for joining me on this journey. Together, we can make a change.

--

--

Nathan Barba

San Francisco-based hiker and adventurer. "I am the master of my fate, I am the captain of my soul." William Ernest Henley, Invictus