Oscar MEYER / Oscar MAYER, or how the Mandela Effect ate my hotdog

Nathaniel Hébert
3 min readFeb 26, 2018

--

“My bologna has a first name, it’s O-S-C-A-R, my bologna has a second name, it’s M-E-Y-E-R.”

Oscar MEYER, the purveyor of bologna and hotdog foodstuffs that even finicky kids will eat. MEYER taught a generation how to spell out their name with an insidious earworm that is oddly infectious to sing! Every year, their Weinermobile used to tour the country’s parking lots, where young hopefuls competed to win in their “Sing the Jingle Contest”.

“Oh I wish I were an Oscar Meyer weiner…”

So with all that repetition, and emphasis on their brand it was a shock to discover they were called “MAYER” all along.

Oscar MAYER on the truck, MEYER in the captions

Upon investigation however, there exists a wealth of Oscar MEYER adverts and articles, that suggest many knew it by the “M-E-Y-E-R” moniker. What’s surprising about these clippings is how often photos of the clearly legible “Oscar MAYER” gets captioned as “Oscar MEYER”; almost as though the logo was swapped out at a later stage!

In honor of conductor Henry Brandon, who composed their other catchy jingle “I wish I was an Oscar Meyer Weiner, that is what I’d truly like to be, ’Cause if I was an Oscar Meyer weiner, everyone would be in love with me.”

Which Oscar do you remember?

More Oscar MEYER news clips:
https://flic.kr/s/aHsm8Qkbhn

--

--

Nathaniel Hébert

Creative Director of Winter-Hébert, a design studio located in the wilds of rural Quebec, with a focus on print, visual identities, and typography.