That’s so… Raven-Symoné?

Nathaniel Hébert
3 min readFeb 27, 2018

--

Now I recall when Raven SIMONE joined the cast of The Cosby Show in the latter seasons; I guess I wasn’t quite as jaded back then, but she grew on me despite my skepticism. Raven later went off and had music and Disney careers, surviving the transition from a child, into an adult actress.

Raven-Symoné?

Seeing her name spelled recently as “Raven-Symoné” was odd; I assumed maybe it was tied in with a career direction change or some such. However, looking back at the season 6 Cosby opener, she’s been Raven-Symoné from the start; that’s a new hyphen, a “Y”, and an accent aigu on the last “é”.

Raven SIMONE — This Is My Time

I would have identified with the accent aigu in her name; I’ve got one in my last name and I’m always helping people to pronounce it. Also being French, I’d have pronounced her name as “Simone-EH”, and not “Simone” like I assumed it was. Oh, and that hyphen in her name… I don’t even know where to begin!

“That’s So Raven” starring Raven Simone.

As usual, there is plenty of evidence that she may have been Raven SIMONE at some point!

Which do you recall?

For more Raven Simone news clips:
https://flic.kr/s/aHskBNSjke

--

--

Nathaniel Hébert

Creative Director of Winter-Hébert, a design studio located in the wilds of rural Quebec, with a focus on print, visual identities, and typography.