The Day I Almost Quit

Nathan Isaac
5 min readJun 20, 2020

--

There once was a time after I had started in the whole new world of entrepreneurship. I had started in my first network marketing company and I thought it was my ticket home, how could anyone say ‘no’ to this? It’s brilliant! You’d have to be an idiot….

Turns out I gave people the benefit of the doubt.

Here’s the thing about starting with that company. That was my introduction into a whole new world of positive and successful people. I’m talking actual successful people. Not just people who have put in time for so long that they have accumulated a lot of ‘things’. These were people who came from the darkest of failures to the highest of successes and were helping many others do the same.

Except being a newbie I wasn’t guided by the best mentors. They would hype me up which was great, but like I always have said, if you’re lost in the woods it doesn’t matter how hyped up you are, you can be super hyped up going in the totally wrong direction. Which I basically was.

Of course I had family members and friends making fun of what I was doing. They would make remarks about the books I was reading, the tapes I was listening to, and the events I was going to. Words like ‘cult’, ‘psycho babble’, and ‘waste of time’ were common things you would hear.

It took a toll on me

I’m a fairly strong willed person. However, at the same time I can be fairly fragile. Going out trying to get people involved, it came from my heart. I wanted to help people, except people only ever thought I was doing it for the money. This frustrated me to a point where I just wanted to slap them in the face.

It became tough for me. I would be out there giving it my all and wanting people to see the light. Rejection after rejection, failure after failure, comments after comments, I was getting worn down.

I still remember this one day, I wasn’t working that day but I remember feeling so beat down. So torn up. I remember my thoughts had turned to,

“What if everyone is right?”

“Maybe I should just get a job and move to a place like Vernon and do that for the rest of my life.”

“Maybe this isn’t for me.”

I was walking around that day thinking these horrible thoughts, planning out my boring life that everyone would have accepted.

The negative thinking of the people around me had penetrated my mind. I allowed them to cloud my positive thinking. I allowed their dark cloud to consume me and I wasn’t able to even see my own thoughts anymore.

I remember being at the front door feeling so gloom, but then it was like a little break in the dark cloud had let in some light and I realized these were not my thoughts. These were the thoughts of the losers around me. I was actually shocked that I was even thinking this way. It was horrible. I actually gave my head a shake and ran as far as I could away from that dark cloud.

Wow! I still remember that day and how awful it was. It was from that day on, I knew I would never quit. I knew I had to protect my thoughts from these bottom feeders. These soul sucking negative thinkers. I literally almost allowed their negative thoughts consume me and my dreams.

The lessons I learned…

Even though it was an awful day, today I look at it as a turning point in my life. I learned some great lessons from that day.

I learned how other peoples thoughts and negative words can have such a profound impact on our own minds. It was this day I became much more aware of protecting my mind.

I learned I needed to avoid certain people. It didn’t matter if they were family or friends. If they were toxic, I would limit the amount of time around them. If you hang around negative people, it’s a sure thing you’re going to develop a negative mind yourself.

I learned who to take advice from. There were negative people living a boring life and they were sitting there judging me on my dreams and ambitions. Who should I listen to, the 26 year old who’s making over $300,000 a year or some guy barely getting by in his boring life? You wouldn’t take business advice from a run down mechanic barely getting by would you? Exactly!

Key Points To Remember

Always remember and know that other peoples words can have an impact on even the strongest of minds. Blocking peoples negativity will wear you out, which is why you need to limit time with those people.

Here’s where the tough part can be, you might just be saying “but they’re my family and my friends.”.

Yes they may be, but you always must protect #1, which is YOU! If they are toxic, you have to be able to recognize that and limit your time with them. They may not enjoy it and try to pull you back in with guilt, but remember you have to take care of you and protect your own mind. Especially if you have dreams, the last thing you need is a toxic and negative environment.

I hope that you take a look around you, see anyone who may be toxic and take action towards limiting your time with them. Also, don’t quit. Never! If I would have given into those thoughts, I would probably stuck with some life that would be ‘socially acceptable’, but I wouldn’t have been happy.

I’ve learned that it’s YOUR life. No one else’s and you should do what YOU want to do. Not what your parents, friends, or society wants you to do. Find out what makes YOU happy and go after it!

If you would use one of the share buttons below and share this post. Not only would you be doing me a favor, but you never know who may need to read something like this at this very moment in their life! Thank you :)

--

--