Even More Poems That I Have Written to Appear Busy

Nathan Webb
2 min readApr 10, 2020

--

Baptism

fully immersed

made new

no trace of the old

brought forth as an offering

completely regenerated

no longer a mere hot dog

now a vehicle for Frank’s Red Hot

First Amendment

this is not an act of defiance

it is not an act of rebellion

this is an exercise

of my God given rights

there is only one way to stop me

i will keep playing this organ

until I get to meet Reba

and/or Chili Davis

Bud Light Lime

the blood pulses through my head

the temperature begins to rise

the stars align around your face

your skin begins to glow

encephalitis, the doctor says

but I know it’s just

too much Freedom Juice

Prayer

281–330–8004

an appeal to heaven

a direct line for prayer

take this cup

i have given for you

for this lean

is the cup of life

Reckoning

the light flashes across the sky

the thunder echoes through the expanse

the heat wraps us all like a quilt

the children run from the flood

the baby boom is complete

Match

you continually amaze me

you make me whole

i can’t imagine my life without you

i thank the higher powers

that obama brought you into

my life

my rock

my better half

my government issued girlfriend

Time

this voice of booming through the rafters

it reverberates in my skull

the sound is inescapable

it continually oppresses me

i will never accept

the idea of Truck Month

True Love

your golden skin beckons me from across the room

i think of nothing but your curves

each spot a perfect imperfection

your scent is intoxicating

every sense is overwhelmed by you

you are mine

i am yours

our love is eternal

our love will be the end of us both

mi amor

mi vida

mi chicken fried steak

Eden

i can see but not touch

it taunts me from afar

the flaming sword keeps me away

the longing in my heart grows

ever deeper, i yearn to be a part

to jump the fence and run

i long to be complete

to have you in my life

please let me into this chili’s

for I must have Chicken Crispers

Pepper

i can only react

not though

just reflex

only repetitions

like a machine

a slip of the foot

a crack of the skull

divots upon divots

blue stands above me

“that’s why we said ‘no pepper’

let’s play ball”

Identity Crisis

i feel that they have learned my secret

i am not who i say i am

in reality, i am five raccoons hidden in a trenchcoat

Acolyte

incense scatters at my feet

our prayer will not rise skyward

a sacrifice of humility has been offered

--

--

Nathan Webb

Currently in Toronto via Dallas. World’s worst student trying to become the world’s okayest Episcopal priest.