100 Writing Submissions in 2021

I’m typing as fast as I can!!!

Nat Hrvatin
7 min readJan 1, 2022

At the beginning of 2021, while enrolled in Second City’s satire course, I set a goal to submit my writing one hundred times. (Shout-out to the incredible and hilarious Amy Estes who, as my instructor for all three levels of the course, truly helped me find my voice as a writer.)

I’m not a mathematician; I’m just a humble humor writer who hypothesized that the more often I submit my work, the more I increase my probability of publication. Here’s a Really Professional Line Graph to prove my theory:

Really Professional Line Graph, courtesy of author

Also, making writing a regular habit has strengthened my writing skills, improved my ability to handle rejections, served as a creative outlet when managing my anxiety and OCD, and given me the supernatural power to predict when someone somewhere is thinking about scrolling away from my article. Hey, you! Stay here with me. Please don’t scroll away! I want to earn more claps on Medium.

Photo by Kulbir from Pexels

I’ve met some incredible people this year, and worked with some amazing publications. I’m proud to say that after years of struggling to find people who want to publish my work, I’ve had a successful output this year. A…

--

--

Nat Hrvatin

Nat Hrvatin is a humor writer from Cleveland, Ohio. Check out her website nathrvatin.com or follow her on Twitter and Instagram @NatHrvatin.