Why Associate Android Developer Certificate Is Useless

Natig Babayev
Quick Code
Published in
3 min readSep 5, 2021

--

Photo by Robert Anasch on Unsplash

My Associate Android Developer certificate expired, and I did not retake the exam for various reasons.

It is for beginners

I have seen many people who claim several years of Android Development experience and take the Associate Android Developer Certification exam. After that, they put it proudly on their social media profiles. There’s nothing wrong with it but let’s think about it for a moment. Saying that I’m an Associate Android Developer decreases the value of my experience when I want to stress that I have been doing Android development on a daily basis for the past five years. I feel like this is similar to talking about your degree if you have some years of experience. Usually, a common rule is that if you have more than specific years of experience in the job you’re applying for, your education doesn’t really matter, especially in the technology field. For example, I took this exam in 2018, and naturally, there have been many changes in Android Development. Therefore, when I apply for an Android Developer job, I wouldn’t talk about a certificate that might be outdated and based on obsolete knowledge. With that being said, I might take the exam if Google releases a more advanced version of it.

No-one cares

--

--

Natig Babayev
Quick Code

Senior Software Developer based in Helsinki, Finland