Florida TLSAE (Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education)

In Florida, all first-time drivers are required by law to complete this 4-hour Florida Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) Course. If you’re a teen driver between the ages of 15 and 17, you need to complete this course before you can apply for your learner permit.One way to fulfill this requirement is to take the course in a classroom designated by the state of Florida. However, think of the time and effort spent just to get to one of those classrooms. Then you have to listen to the information (which may be presented in a very dry manner) and actually remember the details). And, of course, all that may have to happen in your free time!

If you want to skip that hassle, take our online course! You don’t have to go to a classroom to get the necessary instruction. Simply study the course material on any electronic device you choose, pass the exam, and you’ll be ready to move on to the exciting step of applying for your permit or license.

This Florida Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education Course is 100% Florida DHSMV approved. You don’t even have to report course completion to the DHSMV — we’ll do it for you!

Important fact: The course is also called the following: Alcohol Drugs Accident Prevention Training (A.D.A.P.T.), Drug and Alcohol Awareness Course, Drug and Alcohol Class or Drug and Alcohol Course, or First Time Driver Course.

How to use this course to get your driver license

Step 1: Sign up for our Florida TLSAE Course

Step 2: Start learning! Complete the course when you want and where you want

Step 3: If you’re a teen, apply for your learner license. If you’re over 18, skip to Step 5

Step 4: Start driving!

Step 5: Apply for your driver license

Follow these easy steps to get your Florida driver license:

Step 1

Sign up for our Florida Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education Course (TLSAE)

Signing up for the course is as easy as clicking a button. Our Florida Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education Course is one of the most economical courses available! When you sign up for the course, we’ll ask you to create an account. We make this simple and easy so you can start learning right away.

Now you’re ready to start learning.

Step 2

Begin the course

Learning online allows you to master the course information using any electronic device you want — any computer or mobile device. With our course you will easily and quickly cover the required information. Entertaining videos make the learning process fast — so that the course seems almost effortless.

This course contains for hours of online instruction, which is the amount of hours required by the state of Florida. You can complete those hours of instruction as you want, over several days or in just one day.

The final exam is included in this course, which makes it even simpler to fulfill the requirements set by the state of Florida. You can take the exam as many times as you need in order to pass at no additional cost. After you are finished we will electronically inform the court that you have completed the course.

Step 3

Apply for your learner license

To be able to apply for your learner license, you must be at least 15 years of age. If you’re over 18, you can skip to Step 5.

When you go to the DMV office to apply for your learner license, you will need to take with you certain documents. (See the box Applying for a learner license. Don’t forget these documents!) All first-time teen drivers need to take a knowledge exam. You will also need to pass vision and hearing tests that will be given at the office.

The good news is that you can skip taking the knowledge exam at the DMV office. If you are between 14 1/2 and 17 years of age you can choose our Florida combo. With this option you take both the TLSAE test and the permit test online without going to the DMV office. This option is ideal, since you can take both tests as many times as you need in order to pass.

Applying for your learner license. Don’t forget these documents:

  • Proof of identity
  • Identification that verifies your Social Security Number
  • Proof of residency
  • Proof that you completed a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) Course
  • If you are under 18 years of age you must present a Parental Consent Form that is signed by a parent or legal guardian and notarized

Remember the rules!

When driving with a learner license in the state of Florida:

  • You must always drive with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age or older.
  • You may only drive during the daytime for the first three months
  • After those first three months you are only allowed to be behind the wheel until 10 p.m.

*Applicable for drivers under the age of 18

Step 4: Start driving!

Once you have your learner permit you can start your behind-the-wheel instruction. Remember that when you get behind the wheel you must always be accompanied by a driver over 21 years of age. To be able to apply for your driver license you need to spend at least 50 hours behind the wheel with an adult, and 10 of those hours should be at night. Be sure to keep a record of the hours you spend behind the wheel.

Step 5: Apply for your driver license

Once you are 16 years of age or older you can apply for your driver license. Make sure you have completed this TSLAE course and the supervised driving practice. If you are under 18 you must have your permit for at least a year before you can apply for your driver license. You cannot receive any moving violation convictions for one year.

To apply for your license, go to the DMV office with a vehicle to take the driving skills test. Don’t forget to take all the documents you’ll need. (See the Don’t Forget list below.)

When you pass the driving skills test, you’ll be issued a Florida state driver license. Congratulations!

Don’t forget!

You’ll need these documents when you apply for your driver license:

  • Your Florida learner license or a valid license from another state
  • A Certification of Minor Driving Experience Form that certifies you have practiced at least 50 hours of behind-the-wheel training. A parent or guardian must sign the form.
  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of Social Security Number
  • Proof of residential address
  • Proof of insurance for vehicle
  • Proof of registration for vehicle

Remember the rules!

When driving with an intermediate license in the state of Florida, you:

  • May only drive between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m. if you are under 17.
  • May only drive between 5 a.m. and 1 a.m. if you are 17.
  • Exceptions include when you are driving to work or have a licensed driver over 21 in the car with you.

*Applicable for drivers under the age of 18