Nat Safka
4 min readDec 2, 2016

101 For English 101: How to Survive Your First Writing Class

Here at Western Washington University, my very first classroom that I walked into was for my English 101 class located at the Humanities Building right on Red Square. I was scared when I walked into the classroom and took a seat, but I was quick to realize that everyone else was also feeling the same way. Coming into college I had no idea what to expect, and I can vouch for everyone new to university that it is a roller coaster trying to figure everything out. English 101 was a great introductory class for new college students, helping them with basic writing concepts to conquer different college courses over the next 4+ years. I am closing in on my experience with English 101, and I have come across many tips and strategies on how to best succeed at English 101 here at Western. Here are some of the best strategies on how to ace English 101.

Most of the class curriculum is revolved around class discussion, and each student expressing their ideas on a multitude of topics. So it is key to get to know fellow classmates. The quality and depth of all class discussions will greatly increase the more you talk/discuss with other students in the class. Many people might be anxious to speak with new classmates, I know that I was. So my advice would be to engage in discussion with everyone, not just a small group in one part of the classroom. Overtime this will increase comfortability with the of this class, which will benefit overall class discussion. I know that this was a struggle of mine at the beginning of the year, and some students still struggle with this aspect of the class. The way I tried to meet new people in the class was to sit in a different seat each class, so I could talk to as many different people as possible. This really helped to build my confidence within the class, and I saw massive improvements on presentation projects such as the podcast project.

A tip that will be overlooked by a majority of the incoming English 101 students, would be to take advantage of all programs and facilities that Western has to offer. Many of these suggested topics are not necessary to earn an A in the class, but they will improve your chances. Something all Western students will have to understand to pass, would be the online class planner Canvas. This was an unfamiliar tool coming into college, and took time to understand all the tools offered within the application. Something I would recommend to new English 101 students, would be to spend time understanding each component, and finding out how each part is organized. If you follow my advice, navigating the app will become second nature, and finding instructions and turning in assignments will not become the issue will your schoolwork. The Wilson Library is also a great resource that might go under used by English 101 students, that could receive a grade boost after visiting. The library offers paper writing centers, for students who are struggling with papers or just need a second pair of eyes on their work. I started to bring all my work to the writing studio after I saw my grades improve in the 2nd half of the quarter. Its really worth taking the extra time, especially sense teachers are starting to require the best quality work out of students these days.

My last piece of advice for improving in English 101 is something I thought we would have learned from high school, and that’s the importance to be on time to class and on time with your assignments. The class is fairly straightforward when it comes to when something is assigned and due. The majority of students understand the concept, yet slack on due dates and skip class week after week. This is the single reason why certain students will succeed in the class, and certain students will not complete the class. The material isn’t too intimidating for a college freshman, so keeping up on organization will make or break the success in English 101

English 101 is a wonderful introductory class that brings together new college students, and helps pave the way to becoming a college student at Western Washington University. I hope that my tips have helped you realize something that you could do to improve your English 101 experience. These tips and more, will assure you to a successful grade and experience in English 101 at WWU.